“Take me out to the Ball Game”

Ok, so yesterday was great and all. The day continued smoothly and the weather was so nice I actually got in a run down by the river. I. love. spring. Anyways. The hard part didn’t come until the evening. All of my friends and I were invited to the new baseball stadium that Tulsa built downtown. I would just like to say a few things. One, I love baseball. Being from St. Louis and all it is pretty much bred into your bones. Every single St. Louisian loves baseball and loves the Cardinals. Now, imagine my excitement when I found out that Tulsa was going to build an actually ball park for our AA team, The Tulsa Drillers. Woo hoo, you just made my day. So that was really awesome for me and the city as a whole. I will be looking forward to many many more baseball games in my future. That was the good news. The bad news was that my friend’s parents rented the entire Tiki Deck at the new stadium for us to enjoy the first game. Great, but not so great. This Tiki Deck came equiped with a spread of dinner and drinks. Yikes. I guarantee that no one thought to make this dinner Paleo Friendly. So, knowing that this night would be hard on my eating style I prepared myself. I made sure I had a bag of cashews and cranberries and I also cut up an apple for easy accessibility. I figured that at the very least they would have burgers and I could have one sans bun/cheese/and everything else that is great on a burger. Which meant I didn’t have to worry about protein. Good. I was set.

Just a side note: I will be the first one to say, with all of this Paleo business and everything I am giving up there is one thing that just won’t be going away and that is alcohol. Again, being from St. Louis it is rather hard not to grow up drinking copious amounts of beer with Anheuser Bush being right down the street. Now throw in the fact that I am Italian and wine was pretty much served with every meal since I was old enough to hold my own bottle and you can pretty much see that cutting out alcohol was just a step farther than I was willing to take this whole deal. But I am making adjustments. I am attempting to not drink any beer and if I am going to indulge then it will be with wine or hard liquor. And when I do decide to drink I will make sure that I have a plethora of Paleo snacks handy so I am not tempted to cheat. Unfortunately my friends are not joining me in this challenge so they find no problem with ordering pizza or fast food at 2:00 in the morning. Good for them, bad for me.

Once we got to the game and I was able to soak in everything that is great about baseball, it was on to the buffet. I looked at the spread, and thanking my lucky stars, I noticed that they had plain grilled chicken breasts at the end of the line. Hallelujah. Unfortunately I had to pass up other delicious things like macaroni and cheese, chips and dips, etc. So I grabbed a chicken breast and went to have my meal. The game was fun, and I ended up staying on track which was a small victory for me. I can’t say the same about the poor Drillers, the ended up losing 0-7. Oh well, maybe next time.

Breakfast- “No-atmeal” and a small turkey patty

Lunch- Mixed greens, sunflower seeds, lemon dressing, tuna, an apple w/ cashew butter

Dinner- chicken breast, cashews/cranberries

    • Emme
    • April 10th, 2010

    So you can’t drink?

      • CJM
      • April 13th, 2010

      Well I guess technically not, but I definitely am. I am cutting out the beer, just sticking with wine and liquor

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

