Veggies! Veggies! Veggies!

To say I need more veggies in my diet is an understatement. I am having a really hard time with this part of the whole deal. Which is ridiculous considering there are so many great veggies out there to eat. I am just at a loss on how to incorporate them not only in my meals but also as snacks. I have done the carrot route, munching on them throughout the day and before Paleo, eating them with delicious hummus…oh man I miss hummus. But now I have to admit I am a little burnt out on carrots and they just aren’t that great plain. So I am needing some new veggie snacks in my day.

I did however cook up this beautiful array of squash and zucchini last night for dinner, sauteing it with a little olive oil, garlic and pepper. Man was it good. Matched with a little baked chicken breast, it served as a satisfying meal that kept me pretty full the rest of the night.

Besides this mixture and the broccoli and cauliflower that I have been consuming at rapid levels, I am stagnate on my veggie intake. Therefore I am on the search for some good veggie ideas/recipes which hopefully will kickstart my inspiration and love of everything vegetable like. I will be reporting back shortly.

breakfast- eggs, turkey lunch meat -2 oz, 1/2 avocado, 4 strawberries

lunch- chicken breast and zucchini/squash from last night, apple with cashew butter

    • yallit
    • April 22nd, 2010

    What about snacking on raw bell peppers? I love them and they are so good for you… especially the orange ones.

      • CJM
      • April 22nd, 2010

      Hey! That is a great idea. I will wait to get them at the farmers market though. It is just hard to play like $2.50 for ONE bell pepper at the store. 😦 Plus they will taste better locally grown.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

