Reporting back live via Veggie Land

Ok, so as promised I am reporting back on what I have found on the veggie front. Because it has only been a day and I am not superwoman, I haven’t tried any of these great veggie ideas, but I didn’t want to leave you hanging so I thought I would post a few and then update as I make each of these dishes.

Disclaimer: these are by no means my original dishes or ideas. I will post a link to each place I have gotten these from. Being new to this whole Paleo deal hasn’t really led me to spontaneously create Paleo dishes from scratch so I succumb to random blog/recipe stalking.

Broccoli and Apple Salad 

This one looks very delicious and requires only a few ingredients:

 a couple handfuls of watercress, 2 cups broccoli flowers, 2 cups sweet and sour apples diced, juice from a lemon, and olive oil. And just mix all together!

Easy right?!! I’d say so. And boy does it look pretty.

Here’s another that I am actually trying for lunch today:

Guacomatoes 

Side Note: I am altering the recipe a bit and adding some protein. I just so happened to open my fridge this morning to make my lunch (procrastinator people, remember?) and realized I had nothing to make for lunch and no protein to use. Frantically I looked around my kitchen to see what I could whip up or cook quickly and I realized that nothing would suffice considering I had to be at work five minutes ago…and it takes me like 15 minutes to drive there…yikes! Thankfully, due to my blog stalking last night I found this recipe of Guacomatoes and thought that I would be perfect for me. Easy, quick and required only a few key ingredients. What could be better? So, as I sit at my desk I will be whipping up the mix of avocado and tuna, hollow out the tomatoes and stuff in the mixture. Cross your fingers for me.

I will also be working on a cucumber and tomato salad. Since it is the season for both of these ingredients, I am happy that I will be able to acquire fresh, straight from the garden ingredients. I, unfortunately, do not have a garden of my own, so I will be taking advantage of all of the wonderful vendors at the Cherry Street Farmers Market this Saturday. YUMMY.

Here is a link for the Cucumber/Tomato Salad

  1. Hey Christina! So nice to see someone getting some use out of my recipes 🙂 Why don’t you just get all of them from the new website?

    Broccoli&Apple salad: http://www.mypaleokitchen.com/?p=35
    Cucumber&Tomato salad: http://www.mypaleokitchen.com/?p=37

    Good luck with them. And please let me know how your experiment with tuna went, it sounds quite tasty.

    Take care, Naomi

    btw. Hang in there for a while longer, the benefits will come. You already look in good shape so that might explain why it’s taking a bit longer.

    • Emme
    • April 22nd, 2010

    I wish I had a farmers market near by!!!! Keep the veggies up dude!!!!! Have you ever tried making veggie tacos with lettuce as the tortilla? Try it out!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

