Sweet Tooth? Yeah, Me Too.

I’ll be the first to admit, I have a sweet tooth. Scratch that, I have a sweet mouth. When I tell people about it, explaining that is turning into a problem, they usually just roll their eyes and say “yeah right, I’ll show you a sweet tooth.” But I am serious. I would rather forego any meal, breakfast, lunch, dinner, anything for a sweet treat or some chocolate. I  don’t care how much fat, how many calories…just give it to me.

Ok, enough of the cookie monster. See what I mean? My fiance has even admitted that he thinks I am addicted to chocolate. Whenever I talk about my chocolate cravings he usually just shakes his head and tells me that there is something wrong with me.

So you are on doing this Paleo thing, you’ve weened yourself off sugar but still feel like you have an inner cookie monster who dying to come out now and then? Well lucky for you, many other Paleo-ers feel the exact same way. And lucky for me I have been able to find great paleo ways to satisfy my sweet tooth without getting a jumbo sized Caramello. (if you don’t know what a Caramello is, for goodness sakes…drop everything right now and go buy one for yourself at the gas station…oh my chocolately caramel goodness) ok…ok. Sorry. I’m back.

Anyways, like I was saying, they are great ways to stick to your eating plan and still enjoy life. This time I tried some muffins, Paleo muffins of course.

Disclaimer: just because a “sweet” is Paleo does not mean you can sit around and eat as much as you want. Moderation is the key. If you are making muffins, make mini muffins instead of regular sized to ensure that you aren’t overdoing it. A lot of these sweet recipes call for some pretty high fat/calorie content foods and if you are trying to lose weight, eating a batch of Paleo Chocolate Chip cookies is going to do more harm than good, whether or not it has gluten or diary in it. So pace yourself.

Ingredients!

I had to alter the recipe a bit due to some nut allergies in our house. So I will put the original recipe here and then in blue put my substitutions. Enjoy!

 

Paleo Pumpkin Cranberry Muffins

1 1/2 cups almond flour (I used 1 cup coconut flour)

3/4 cup puree pumpkin (you can used canned, but make sure to get just plain pumpkin and not pumpkin pie filling) (I added a bit more, about a cup)

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

3 eggs

1/4-1/3 cup maple syrup or honey depending on your sweet tooth

1 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice (I had no “official pumpkin pie spice so instead I made my own mixture -Makes 1 tsp

  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoons ground ginger
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • I didn’t have clove- but would have added 1/8 tsp clove if I had had it.

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/8 tsp salt

1/2 cup chopped cranberries (I used a cup of dried cranberries)

1/2 cup water- (mine were a little dry upon mixing so I added some water to moisten.

 

Adding the Coconut Flour

 

 

Preheat oven to 400.

Mix together all the ingredients except for the cranberries until smooth. Fold in the cranberries.

Spoon batter into greased muffin cups (I use coconut oil) and bake for 25 minutes. They turn out soft and cakey, but are delicious in the mornings with some coffee!

 

Adding the Crans!

Ready for the oven!

There you have it! Something a little different for your palate! Hope you enjoy! As always, Stay Active, Stay Healthy, and Smile!

 

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

